Guild History

The Guild started life as the Warwickshire Guild of Change Ringers. Prior to formation, the area was described as “the only county in England not covered by a County Guild or Society”. The foundation meeting was held in the Dale Temperance Hotel in Warwick on Saturday 23rd November, 1907 following invitations circulated to active ringers.

The first President of the Guild was Rev. Alan Williams, Vicar of St Marys Warwick and the first Ringing Master E. H. Adams also of Warwick. In January, 1908 the membership was recorded as 63 ringers from 13 different towers.

Although nominally covered by the St Martins Guild, meetings were held in the early years in Birmingham and Sutton Coldfield, then still part of Warwickshire. In 1918 the new Diocese of Coventry was established but it was not until much later, at the AGM in 1945 that the Guild title was altered to reflect its Diocesan status.

A Centenary publication on the full history of the Guild contains details of the operation of the Guild, its personalities, the bells being rung and the performances achieved.

The following tables identify the past Guild Officers. The posts of President, Secretary, Treasurer and Ringing Master are listed :-


1915-24 Rev H C A Black Berkswell
1924-31 Rev J L White Nuneaton
1931-36 Rev J A B Davies Chilvers Coton
1936-42 Rev P Brooke Rugby
1942-44 Rev F W Moyle Chilvers Coton
1944-45 Rev M Knight Nuneaton
1945-50 Rev R T Murray Chilvers Coton /Southam
1950-54 Rev R R P Rigby Chilvers Coton
1954-56 Rev W C Maggs Bedworth
1956-64 F W Perrens Allesley
1964-69 A H Beamish Chilvers Coton
1969-70 J L Garner-Hayward Warwick
1970-73 Mrs D E Beamish Chilvers Coton
1973-77 R Winter Allesley
1977-81 Mrs P Copson Sherbourne
1981-91 H M Windsor Harbury
1991-97 Mrs B A Winter Allesley
1997-00 R A Sheasby Stoke
2000-03 M Chester Allesley
2003-06 C Mew Warwick
2006-09 M Chester Allesley
2009-12 M Gray Snitterfield
2012-15 C Idle Bilton
2015-18 Mrs J Pluckrose Bulkington
2018-     A Alldrick Cathedral


1907-11 A L Coleman Rugby
1911-14 Rev C Carew-Cox Stratford
1914-17 G H Kettle Allesley
1917-21 J H W White Allesley
1921-25 A Wilkerson Nuneaton
1925-29 J A Fenton Rugby
1929-35 Miss D E Lewis (later Mrs Beamish) Chilvers Coton
1935-38 M C C Melville (later Rev Melville) Exhall
1938-56 Mrs D E Beamish Chilvers Coton
1956-69 J L Garner-Hayward Warwick
1969-79 H M Windsor Harbury
1979-89 G Pluckrose Bulkington
1989-93 M Chester Allesley
1993-04 M J O Gray Snitterfield
2004-11 I Maycock Cubbington
2011-14 J Gwynne Warwick
2014-    Mrs A Hall Warwick

Ringing Master

1908-09 G H Martineau Solihull
1909-11 J F Smallwood Stoke
1911-19 J George Rugby
1919-24 W A Roberts Stoke
1924-30 T W Chapman Nuneaton
1930-44 J H W White Allesley
1944-48 F E Pervin Stoke
1948-51 A H Beamish Chilvers Coton
1951-54 F W Perrens Allesley
1954-57 R J Edden Ladbroke
1957-59 C Underwood Rugby
1959-60 D A Carpenter Allesley
1960-69 H M Windsor Harbury
1969-72 R Winter Allesley
1972-73 D Baker Allesley
1973-74 J Findon Stratford
1974-75 R A Sheasby Stoke
1975-84 P Border Warwick
1984-88 C Mew Warwick
1988-90 R A Sheasby Stoke
1996-98 C Mew Warwick
2004-05 C Walters Monks Kirby
2005-07 D Travis Cathedral
2007-08 G R Hayward Honiley
2009-14 B Kimpton Cathedral
2015-    M Sayers Leek Wootton


1907-17 W G Dickins Warwick
1917-57 Combined with Secretary
1957-65 Mrs D E Beamish Chilvers Coton
1965-71 H G Summers Allesley
1971-76 G W Randall Southam
1976-80 D Randall Warwick
1980-    S P Rogers Warwick